Six hour Driver Improvement Program
If a Georgia driver accumulates 15 points within a 24 month period, the Department of Driver Services will suspend their driving privileges for 6 months. Completion of this 6 hour Defensive Driving Program is required prior to restoration of driving privileges. If a licensed driver accumulates 15 points within 24 months for a second time, within a 5 year period, the Department of Driver Services will suspend their driving privileges for 1 year and, once again, the completion of a 6-hour program is required to reinstate your license. Some judges in the State of Georgia may dismiss or non-process a ticket for a moving violation if the offender completes the 6 hour program.
Additionally, under Georgia law O.C.G.A. 33-9-42, a reduction of not less than 10% in insurance premiums shall be available to licensed drivers 25 years of age or older, provided they have a clean driving record and successfully complete a 6hr defensive driving course.
|2018 Class Dates||Saturdays 9am-4pm/Lunch 12:30-1:30|
|January 6 and 20||July 14 and 28|
|February 3 and 17||August 11 and 25|
|March 3 and 17 and 24||September 8 and 22|
|April 7 and 21||October 6 and 20|
|May 5 and 10||November 3 and 17|
|June 2 and 16 and 30||December 1 and 15|